The power of the tongue

Focus: Speaking powerful words

Psalm 19:14 (NKJV) Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
 be acceptable in Your sight,
 O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.

As we continue to move forward in recovery, an important commitment is speaking powerful words that will help us keep making progress. The first group that followed the twelve-step method was Alcoholics Anonymous, which was founded in 1935 by Bill Wilson and Dr. Bob Smith. The success of these steps has helped millions of struggling people worldwide. The same steps have been adapted to many different uses in the recovery realm.

(read more below)

Now, you can listen and/or read!

I will find hope and encouragement as I hear my own voice making positive confessions.  --Christina Cook Lee, A Quest For New Strength
Link to New Strength Devotional, Audio Version
I will find hope and encouragement as I hear my own voice making positive confessions. --Christina Cook Lee, A Quest For New Strength
New Strength Devotional Inspirational Statement of the Day
A key motivational statement from each day’s segment of New Strength Devotional

 

Knowing the power of the spoken word, I would strongly recommend reading these steps out loud as I have personalized them, as often as you see fit. Many people in recovery review these principles on a daily basis in order to keep absolute accountability.

Reading them silently is not as powerful as saying the words out loud:

  1. I am nothing without God—my life is unmanageable without Him.
  2. God can restore my heart, soul, mind, and body.
  3. By an act of my own will, I am turning myself over to God’s care.
  4. I will make an honest examination of my moral conduct every day.
  5. I will admit the exact nature of my wrongs to God and another human being.
  6. I am ready to have God remove all defects from my character.
  7. I have humbly asked God to remove my shortcomings.
  8. I am willing to make a list of all persons I have harmed and I am willing to make amends to all.
  9. I will make amends to all of them, if possible—except when it would injure them.
  10. I will continue to take a personal inventory and when I am wrong, I will admit it immediately.
  11. I will pray and meditate to improve my conscious contact with God asking for His will in my life and the power to carry it out.
  12. Because of my spiritual awakening and what following these steps has done for me, I will try to help others in their recovery efforts using these same principles.

Declaration: I will find new strength by regularly declaring my intentions as to my desire to recover from depression and dependency. I will find hope and encouragement as I hear my own voice making positive confessions. I will make better progress by submitting myself to absolute accountability.

http://youtu.be/n5U8CN2DxgQ

If you subscribe to New Strength, a new segment will come to your email each day.

For music selections that will help bring hope and encouragement during your recovery from depression and addiction, https://www.youtube.com/user/NewStrengthMusic/playlists?sort=dd&view=1

All NEW STRENGTH posts are Copyright by Christina Cook Lee 2012. Please request permission to re-post or re-blog.

Leave a Reply

