The power of the tongue

Focus: Acknowledging my powerless state

Romans 7:18 (NKJV) For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform that what is good I do not find.

The first step to overcoming any weakness is admitting we have a problem we can’t solve on our own. That problem can be an inability to cope with depression, addiction, anger, stress, finances, you name it. The point is, our problem has become too big for us, and as a result—everything is spinning out of control. Our life has become unmanageable.

The Word of God possesses amazing powers. When you read the words of scripture, things change. You feel yourself getting stronger—just by seeing the words on the page. When you say them out loud, the power of the words intensifies. The audible Word of God puts an unseen barrier around you that is a shield and hiding place all at once.

The following verses underline the importance of admitting your powerless state in the current situation of your life. Ponder the words, recite them, and speak them out loud as much as you can. They will bring new strength to you.

1 John 1:9 (KJV) If we confess our sins He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

Psalm 51:3 (NKJV) For I acknowledge my transgressions,
and my sin is always before me.

(read more below)

Now, you can listen and/or read!

I will find new strength by speaking scriptures out loud. --Christina Cook Lee, A Quest For New Strength
Link to New Strength Devotional, Audio Version
I will find new strength by speaking scriptures out loud. --Christina Cook Lee, A Quest For New Strength
New Strength Devotional Inspirational Statement of the Day

 

Psalm 51:17 (NKJV) The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit,
a broken and a contrite heart—
These, O God, You will not despise.

Galatians 6:3 (NKJV) For if a man thinks himself to be something, when he is nothing, he deceives himself.

Galatians 5:16 (NKJV) I say then: Walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. For the flesh lusts against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; and these are contrary to one another, so that you do not do the things that you wish. But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law.

2 Corinthians 5:10 (NKJV) For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive the things done in the body, according to what he has done, whether good or bad.

2 Corinthians 6:17 (NKJV) Therefore come out from among them
and be separate, says the Lord.
do not touch what is unclean,
and I will receive you.

2 Corinthians 10:3-6 (NKJV) For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh. For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ, and being ready to punish all disobedience when your obedience is fulfilled.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 (NKJV) And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Hebrews 3:12-15 (NKJV) Beware, brethren, lest there be in any of you an evil heart of unbelief in departing from the living God; but exhort one another daily, while it is called “Today,” lest any of you be hardened through the deceitfulness of sin. For we have become partakers of Christ if we hold the beginning of our confidence steadfast to the end, while it is said: “Today, if you will hear His voice, do not harden your hearts as in the rebellion.”

Hebrews 4:12-13 (NKJV) For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. And there is no creature hidden from His sight, but all things are naked and open to the eyes of Him to whom we must give account.

Declaration: My healing can begin because I admit I am powerless over my weakness. I will find new strength by speaking scriptures out loud. The Word of God will be a shield and hiding place to me, and I will move forward.

If you subscribe to New Strength, a new segment will come to your email each day.

For music selections that will help bring hope and encouragement during your recovery from depression and addiction, browse:http://www.youtube.com/view_all_playlists

All NEW STRENGTH posts are Copyright by Christina Cook Lee 2012. Please request permission to re-post or re-blog.

Leave a Reply

