Love

Focus: Seeking God the right way

Psalm 143:8 (NKJV) Cause me to hear Your lovingkindness in the morning, for in You do I trust; cause me to know the way in which I should walk, for I lift up my soul to You.

David really knew how to pray. He was able to state so honestly the desperation of his soul, always declaring God as his only possible hope.

(read more below)

Now, you can listen and/or read!

I will find new strength by honoring Almighty God and acknowledging His Power as I seek Him in prayer. --Christina Cook Lee, A Quest For New Strength
Link to New Strength Devotional, Audio Version.
I will find new strength by honoring Almighty God and acknowledging His great power as I seek Him in prayer. --Christina Cook Lee, A Quest For New Strength
New Strength Devotional Inspirational Statement of the Day

 

Psalm 143 is a prayer of David. It’s a passage that any depressed or discouraged person could relate to:

  • Hear my prayer, O Lord. Give ear to my supplications! In Your faithfulness answer me, and in Your righteousness.
  • Do not enter into judgment with Your servant, for in Your sight no one living is righteous. For the enemy has persecuted my soul; he has crushed my life to the ground; he has made me dwell in darkness, like those who have long been dead. Therefore my spirit is overwhelmed within me; my heart within me is distressed.
  • I remember the days of old; I meditate on all Your works; I muse on the work of Your hands. I spread out my hands to You; my soul longs for You like a thirsty land. Selah.
  • Answer me speedily, O Lord; my spirit fails! Do not hide Your face from me, lest I be like those who go down into the pit. Cause me to hear Your lovingkindness in the morning, for in You do I trust; cause me to know the way in which I should walk, for I lift up my soul to You.
  • Deliver me, O Lord, from my enemies; in You I take shelter. Teach me to do Your will, for You are my God; Your Spirit is good. Lead me in the land of uprightness. Revive me, O Lord, for Your Name’s sake! For Your righteousness’ sake bring my soul out of trouble. In Your mercy cut off my enemies, and destroy all those who afflict my soul; for I am Your servant.

In the times of David’s life when he was depressed, he had a unique way of getting God’s attention. As we examine this prayer of David in detail, we see that throughout the whole passage, David continually affirms God’s character traits and attributes. In these few verses, David lists at least twenty qualities of God’s divine nature. David recognizes the Lord as: The One who hears prayer, the One who is faithful, righteous, able to judge, holy, creative, powerful, the source, loving, kind, trustworthy, the One who is able to deliver, shelter, teach, the One who can revive, the One who is merciful, strong, mighty, the victor, and the master.

David starts out by appealing to the Lord’s faithfulness and righteousness. David is quick to admit his own overwhelming need and submits his lowly position of humility and distress.

Next, David mentions his relationship with the Lord, the years he has spent meditating on the works of the Lord, and how much he is inspired by the works of the Lord’s hands. David indicates his great need for even more contact with the Lord at this time, by spreading out his hands in the same way a thirsty land reaches for water.

David continues pursuing God by confessing his immediate need for the Lord to answer his cry for help. He indicates that his strength is nearly exhausted and he pleads with urgency to the Lord, as a dying man fighting for his soul. David is crying out for the Lord to reveal His lovingkindness by rescuing him from the place he has had to dwell because of the persecution of his enemies. David is desperate for light and revelation. He has been trapped in darkness, and can’t see a way out of his circumstances. He is so crushed and persecuted that he has become disoriented. He is utterly lost and has no idea which way he should walk to get away from those who are afflicting him.

David is searching with all his heart for deliverance from his enemies and shelter in God. He knows God is good and capable of teaching him what he needs to learn. He wants to be revived and led out of his trouble, so that the Lord would be glorified and receive praise. David calls out to his Master for mercy, as a servant of God.

Our own point of need may be as extreme to us as David’s was to him—the question is, do we honor God as David did? Do we pray with the same kind of fervency and expectancy as David did?

Declaration: I will find new strength by honoring Almighty God and acknowledging His great power as I seek Him in prayer. I will magnify the Lord by exalting Him with my devotion.

If you subscribe to New Strength, a new segment will come to your email each day.

For music selections that will help bring hope and encouragement during your recovery from depression and addiction, https://www.youtube.com/user/NewStrengthMusic/playlists?sort=dd&view=1

All NEW STRENGTH posts are Copyright by Christina Cook Lee 2012. Please request permission to re-post or re-blog.

Leave a Reply

